top of page

T.G.I.F.


 

T.G.I.F. everyone! Yes, this is typically used in reference to the end of an exhausting work week and start to a fun weekend, but today it stands for something a little different...

The Grind Includes Friday.

This acronym first came to my attention from a caption on a picture that my affiliates, Bodybuilding.com, put up a few weeks ago. It really stuck with me, because it is so true! How many of us are guilty of seeing the word "Friday" on a calendar, and determining that it means we can now eat/drink however much/whatever we want and toss our workouts and goals out the window until Monday rolls around again? *raises hand* I'm very guilty of that.

I've done this many-a-time, and I know a lot of other people are in the same boat. It's easy to get caught up in the high of the weekend coming, and as a result, treat Friday completely different from any other day. But, one Friday it occurred to me that I was doing nothing but hurting myself with that mindset. I was treating Friday like it was some sort of rare occasion that I may never see again, so I needed to take advantage of it to the fullest. Uhhhh-- reality check, it happens every week. There is no need to make it its own "thing" every 7 days. The result of doing so was just hindering my results and slowing down progress to my goals. So, that in mind, I started having a new outlook on my Fridays.

Yes, I still thank goodness it's Friday every time it finally arrives, but I also know that a certain day of the week does not mean I have to completely break my routine. I still eat my typical meals, I still get my workout in (or rest day stretches), and I don't use the word "Friday" as an excuse to justify things I wouldn't usually do ("Eat half of a pizza because #friday!!!"--no, would I do this on a Wednesday because #wednesday? Not likely).

I do agree that Fridays (or weekends in that matter) are a great time to take a well-deserved break and to let loose, but it doesn't need to be a 180 from your Monday-Thursday routine. Go out to eat, have some drinks, enjoy a dessert-- just don't be an idiot (aka use judgement, use moderation...as touched on in an old Instagram post below).

Friday comes around every week. You can thank goodness, but just remember that the workout/healthy lifestyle grind you've been killing includes Friday.

T.G.I.F. one and all :)

 

MARIA'S FITNESS TIPS

#1 

Set goals! Set both long and short-range goals to keep yourself motivated. Be sure that the short-range goals will eventually lead you to your big-picture, long-range ones. Consider them stepping stones on the path towards something bigger.

 

#2

Do what you like to do. Don't just start doing something because everyone else is; find what you truly enjoy and do that. In the end, if you don't have a genuine interest in your workouts and lifestyle, you're going to hinder your progress.

 

#3

Switch things up! I know this may sound kind of funny after just reading #2, but as humans, we can get bored of doing the same thing over and over. As well, our muscles can get "bored" and we can plateau. Do not be afraid to try new things and incorporate change to keep you entertained and your muscles guessing!

bottom of page